Header 2

Agenda 2063 Africa Photojournalism Award

The Agenda 2063 Africa Photojournalism Award invites the submission of images that creatively and artistically address the topic of the future in Africa. The key objective is to identify motifs that show a modern, self-confident, positive-inspiring and artistic view of Africa’s future and the associated themes of youth, innovation, progress and development. The pictures should convey the message that Africa is a continent of opportunity.

Submissions are invited under the following seven categories, guided by aspirations of Agenda 2063: 


  • Category 1– Agriculture, rural environment, land rights and skills development
  • Category 2– Regional economic integration, transport and information infrastructure
  • Category 3– Good governance: Human rights, justice and rule of law
  • Category 4 –Silencing the guns in Africa: Conflict prevention and transformation, mediation
  • Category 5– Youth and women
  • Category 6– Democracy and digitalisation
  • Category 7– Africa’s young research excellence and innovative solution building


Deadline for submissions: 30 June 2021

Download Africa Photojournalism Award Rules (PDF)


Submissions: When submitting, please ensure you upload the image(s) in hi-resolution. If the image is accompanied by a story, please provide this story in a PDF, and include a link to the published story (where applicable) at the start of the PDF. Only submissions that clearly meet the brief and are of a high standard will be considered for entry. Links to pictures will not be considered.


Selection: A jury will select three finalists per category, who will be announced in July 2021. Images submitted by finalists will be published and showcased in various partner publications and activities.


Winners: Winners will be announced in July 2021, and will receive a cash prize of $2,000 each. They will also have the opportunity to present their pictures to the international community through activities of African Women in Media, African Union and GIZ.



  1. Professional and amateur photographers are invited to submit their work that are of high-quality and meet the categories of the competition. Both published and unpublished works are permitted.
  2. Participants must have the nationality of a member state of the African Union, and be at least eighteen years of age.
  3. Only pictures taken in a member state of the African Union are permitted.
  4. Applicants can submit up to two entries across all categories.
  5. Joint submissions are permitted provided the submitted images are authored by the entrants.
  6. The photographer(s) must be the author(s) of the pictures submitted in their name, and own the copyright or have been authorised by the copyright holder(s) to submit the pictures.
  7. Submitted images can be as a single picture or as part of a story, or as part of a body of work in long-term projects. Please provide the story and details of the body of work in a separate PDF, which should include a link to the story where possible.
  8. Images must be free of any name or text on the image itself. Instead, a clear caption, in English, must be provided on submission.
  9. No entry fee is payable.
  10. Only entries submitted between by 30 June 2021 will be considered.
  11. All entries must be submitted via the official contest formand must comply with the rules and eligibility criteria set. Entries sent in other ways, and/or that do not comply with the rules and eligibility criteria,  will not be accepted.
  12. Any entries that are late, illegible, fraudulent, or which bring/would be likely to bring the reputation of African Women in Media, African Union, and GIZ into disrepute will be rendered ineligible to participate in the Awards and will be disqualified.
  13. You will grant African Women in Media, African Union, and GIZ unrestricted, unfettered and irrevocable non-exclusive rights in all works submitted for entry into the Awards (or where such rights are owned by a third party, you shall procure that such third party grants such rights) for African Women in Media, African Union, and/or GIZ to use such works in any way it determines in its sole discretion.
  14. Entries will be judged by a panel determined by African Women in Media, African Union, and GIZ at their sole discretion and will meet in July 2021.
  15. Judges reserve the right to not select entries that do not meet the required standards.
  16. Judges reserve the right to transfer entries for consideration in other categories at their discretion.
  17. The judges uphold the integrity and reputation of the Photojournalism Awards and, as such, reserve the right to disqualify any piece of work and/or finalist if, in the judges’ opinion, there exists reasonable doubt about the authenticity and/or ownership of the submitted entry and/or the integrity of the finalists.
  18. The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  19. Categories and sponsors of the awards may be subject to change.
  20. Finalists will be required to sign affidavits of eligibility, confirming amongst other things copyright ownership and/or clearance of all images submitted, and containing releases granting African Women in Media, African Union, and GIZ and all sponsors of the Awards, the right to use their names, voices, pictures and work submitted, without compensation, in any media for the purposes of advertising/public relations, training, exhibiting and promotion of all matters related to the Awards.
  21. You hereby consent that African Women in Media, African Union, and GIZ may share the information you provide with the partners and judges of the Awards.
  22. Three finalists will be announced per category and one winner will be selected per category.
  23. African Women in Media, African Union, and GIZ and all sponsors of the Awards disclaim any liability for loss to any person or property relating to the delivery and/or subsequent use of, or participation in, any of the prizes awarded. The winners agree to abide by any and all terms and conditions of the supplier(s) of the prizes. The promoter is AWiM.
  24. The Competition shall be covered and construed with international law.
  25. You acknowledge that this is only a competition and the awarding of any prize does not give rise to employment, agency or joint venture relationship or arrangement between you and African Women in Media, African Union, and/or GIZ .
  26. By submitting your entry, you confirm that you have read and agree with these rules.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Blogs


AWiM Online Magazine

PRESS RELEASE: Kigali Declaration Adopted at AWiM23

Follow Us







C.E.O & Co-founder, AWiM

Dr Yemisi Akinbobola is an award-winning journalist, academic, consultant and co-founder of African Women in Media (AWiM). AWiM’s vision is that one-day African women will have equal access to representation in media. Joint winner of the CNN African Journalist Award 2016 (Sports Reporting), Yemisi ran her news website IQ4News between 2010-14.
Yemisi holds a PhD in Media and Cultural Studies from Birmingham City University, where she is a Senior Lecturer. She has published scholarly research on women’s rights, African feminism, and journalism and digital public spheres. She was Editorial Consultant for the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325 commemorative book titled “She Stands for Peace: 20 Years, 20 Journeys”, and currently hosts the book’s podcast.
She speaks regularly on issues relating to gender and media. In 2021 she was recognized as one of 100 Most Influential African Women.